SUN/Government/RHA Tripartite Partnership Agreement

The 2012 SUN/ Government/Regional Health Authorities Tripartite Partnership Agreement symbolizes a joint commitment to work collaboratively on improving the health care system for patients, their families, and the nurses who care for them.  The Tripartite Agreement was signed by Health Minister Dustin Duncan, SUN and representatives from Regional Health Authorities in Regina on June 13, 2012. NEWS RELEASE

This new agreement builds on the successes of the 2008 SUN/Government of Saskatchewan partnership, which was the first of its kind in Canada. That partnership resulted in more than 900 additional registered nurses working in Saskatchewan - well over the four-year target of 800.

The new Tripartite Partnership Agreement will help ensure high quality, safe patient care by supporting an appropriate, experienced, educated and engaged registered nurse workforce. The Agreement is of great significance to both registered nurses and the patients and families they serve. The partners recognize that there is much work still to be done to address safe staffing levels for both patients and SUN members. Collaboration such as this is essential to the retention and recruitment of a skilled registered nurse workforce in Saskatchewan. The partners recognize the value of every registered nurse in the province, and are committed to maintaining a strong nursing workforce.


Regularization of work hours

Improved safety

Recruitment/Retention in Rural and Remote Areas

This Agreement represents a new and collaborative approach to labour relations. It will create an environment where registered nurses are empowered to participate in health system transformation by engaging in decision making and identifying potential efficiencies.

OUR GOAL: To introduce improvements that ultimately benefit patients, their families, nurses and the health system.

Download the Tripartite Agreement

Download the Tripartite Agreement Fact Sheet

Sun Country Health Region Prairie North Health Region Sunrise Health Region Prince Albert Parkland Health Region Kelsey Trail Health Region
Keewatin Yatthe Health Region Heartland Health Region Saskatchewan Union of Nurses Saskatchewan Ministry of Health Saskatoon Health Region Mamawetan Churchill River Health Region
Five Hills Health Region Cypress Health Region Regina Qu’Appelle Health Region