Rural Recruitment and Retention

The Joint SUN/RHA Retention and Recruitment (R&R) Committees have been pivotal in retaining and recruiting registered nurses in our province through professional development, mentorship and bursary programs. Their work came to an end when the previous Collective Agreement and Partnership expired.

Following an analysis of the R&R Committees’ final reports, bursary programs within seven RHAs were extended to December 31, 2012, to allow for further evaluation.  An external evaluator was engaged to evaluate both the committee level outcomes (relationship-building, trust, problem-solving, knowledge transfer, etc.) and participant level outcomes (increased nurse and patient indicators, nurse satisfaction, job turnover, access to professional development, patient experience, etc.).

An interim report was delivered to the Tripartite Steering Committee on January 30, 2013.  Based on in-depth one-on-one R&R Committee member interviews, a number of emerging themes were identified.  Overall, respondents indicated that there was immense value in the positive relationships that were built through this new approach to joint problem-solving.  The next steps in the evaluation process are to examine key success factors, actual FTE numbers for positions filled, the impacts of shared decision-making on addressing R&R issues, and lessons that could be applied to future projects.

Read the report :   A review of the Recruitment and Retention Committee activity of the SUN Government Partnership - Lois E. Berry, PhD, RN - February 11, 2013


Please refer questions relating to rural and remote recruitment and retention initiatives to: 

  • Lynn Digney Davis (Chief Nursing Officer/Associate Executive Director, Ministry of Health)

  • Donna Trainor (Executive Director, Saskatchewan Union of Nurses)

Sun Country Health Region Prairie North Health Region Sunrise Health Region Prince Albert Parkland Health Region Kelsey Trail Health Region
Keewatin Yatthe Health Region Heartland Health Region Saskatchewan Union of Nurses Saskatchewan Ministry of Health Saskatoon Health Region Mamawetan Churchill River Health Region
Five Hills Health Region Cypress Health Region Regina Qu’Appelle Health Region